Red and orange Japanese maples ringing a still pond at Yujaku Park in Oita, their colour reflected almost perfectly in the water under a clear blue sky.

Kyushu Autumn Without the Guidebooks: Yujaku Park and Raizan Sennyoji (2026)

Two of Kyushu late-autumn best sites have almost nothing written about them in English, and what exists is out of date. Prices, illumination dates, the weekday bus problem, and three corrections to the official English record.

Kyushu · Oita & Fukuoka · Late autumn

By Nobu · Published September 2026 · Built from official sources rather than a visit: prices, hours, bus timetables and heritage designations checked against the temple, Itoshima City, Bungo-ono City Tourism, Showa Bus, JR Kyushu and the Fukuoka City Transportation Bureau on 3 September 2026. I have not been to either site in the autumn season, and every figure below is attributed to the body that published it.

Yujaku Park in Oita — a former daimyo retainer’s villa garden with around 500 maples around its ponds — has no English page anywhere: not on japan-guide, not on JNTO, not even on Oita Prefecture’s own English tourism site. Raizan Sennyoji in Fukuoka has the opposite problem. It is covered in English, but the details are wrong in ways that matter: its admission went up on 1 September 2025 and round-ups still quote the old figures, and its famous maple is a prefecturally designated natural monument, not the municipal one VISIT FUKUOKA’s English page describes.

Red and orange Japanese maples ringing a still pond at Yujaku Park in Oita, their colour reflected almost perfectly in the water under a clear blue sky.
Yujaku Park in Bungo-ono, Oita. The reflection in Shinji Pond is what the site is known for locally. In 2025 the festival included a single night of Mizukagami kagura on a temporary stage built over that pond.
Yujaku ParkBungo-ono, OitaAround 500 maples, two ponds
Yujaku peakMid to late November2025: 60% on 17 Nov, 70% on 20 Nov
Yujaku admissionNot statedNo fee is published either way
Raizan SennyojiItoshima, FukuokaShingon temple, founded 1753
Sennyoji admission¥500 adultOr ¥200 grounds-only in November
Sennyoji peakAround 10 NovemberThe temple’s own estimate for the great maple
Reception hours09:00–16:30Sennyoji · closes 17:00 in November
Watch out forTripods banned at Sennyoji; weekday buses barely run

Two different windows, a week or so apart

These two cover different halves of November rather than arriving together. Sennyoji’s own FAQ puts the great maple at “roughly early to mid November,” with the temple’s blog naming around 10 November as the usual peak, and says the two hundred or so maples across the grounds hold colour “through the end of November.” Bungo-ono City Tourism gives Yujaku Park’s window as “from mid to late November.”

What makes Yujaku unusually well documented is that the tourism association posts dated progress reports from the park itself. In 2025: colour starting around the ponds on 7 November; “about 60 per cent overall, and the ring around Shinji Pond looks like it peaks this week” on 17 November; 70 per cent on 20 November; “just past peak around the pond” on 25 November; leaves down by 9 December. That is a more useful record than any forecast, and it is the kind of thing our koyo tracker follows through the season. For where the front sits nationally in the same weeks, see our November guide.

Yujaku Park: a retainer’s garden nobody writes about in English

The land was granted by the lord of Oka Domain to his senior retainer Nakagawa Heiemon Naganobu as a villa estate. It sat on the domain’s sankin-kotai route to Edo, and Oita’s prefectural tourism body records that the Nakagawa lords stopped here on those journeys, and that literary figures including Tanomura Chikuden and Rai San’yo visited — the place functioned as the domain’s front door and reception house. In 1880 it passed to the Kira family. Every current festival notice routes enquiries through the Bungo-ono City Asaji Branch Office.

A note on an outdated official description. Oita’s official tourism page still says the park “is now managed by Asaji Town.” Asaji Town ceased to exist in the 2005 municipal mergers and is part of Bungo-ono City; the enquiry number given on every current festival notice is the Bungo-ono City Asaji Branch Office. This is a common shape of error in Japanese tourism pages — a sentence written before a merger that nobody has revisited.

The maple count depends which official page you read: Bungo-ono City Tourism says “about 500” maple trees, Oita Prefecture says “more than 500.” Both are official. I have not found a count anyone has actually verified, so treat 500 as the order of magnitude rather than a number.

A broad view across the pond at Yujaku Park in Bungo-ono, Oita, with a mixed band of red, orange and green trees along the far bank reflected in the water.
The wider view. Two ponds are named on the tourism association’s page — Shinji and Tanji — though the prefectural page mentions only Shinji.

The festival, and the part that catches people out

The Yujaku Autumn Maple Festival has run 3–24 November for the last two editions. Illumination is the draw, and this is the thing to get right: it does not run every night. In 2025 it ran on seven specific dates — 7, 8, 14, 16, 21, 22 and 23 November — from sunset to 21:00. In 2024 it ran on six. Turning up on an unlit evening in the middle of the festival period is an easy mistake to make.

The 2026 edition, which would be the 45th, had not been announced when I checked on 3 September 2026. Both of the last two announcements went up in mid-October, so that is when to look.

Admission is not published

The tourism association’s detail table lists the fee field as “—”. No official page states a price, and none states that entry is free either. Toilets and parking are listed as available, without numbers.

Bring a light for the illumination

The association’s own report from 7 November 2025 says it plainly: the reflections are lovely at night, but parts of the path are dark underfoot and they recommend carrying a torch.

Night kagura, one date

In 2025 the Mizukagami night kagura ran on 15 November on a platform built over Shinji Pond. On that day parking at and around the site closed from 14:00 and a shuttle ran from Asaji Community Centre for a ¥300 contribution.

Access was restricted for most of 2025

Construction-related access restrictions ran from January 2025 until 31 July and were lifted on 1 August. Nothing suggests a repeat, but it is worth checking current notices before making a long detour.

Getting to Yujaku Park

The nearest station is Asaji on the JR Hohi Line. From Oita it is a 1 hour 10 minute run on a local train, no change, ¥1,300 — that fare is the ticket alone, because no limited express is involved. From Bungo-taketa it is six minutes and ¥270. From Kumamoto, the realistic option is the Kyushu Odan limited express with one change at Bungo-taketa: about 2 hours 36 minutes, ¥3,620 unreserved.

Asaji is an unstaffed station — JR Kyushu’s own page for it says under ticket sales, “there is no sales window.” Thirty-four trains call there across a day, seventeen in each direction.

The last mile is the problem, and there is a good answer. Both tourism bodies say the park is five to six minutes from Asaji by car, and neither explains what to do without one. The community bus does serve a stop called Yujaku Koen, but the route it sits on runs only on Mondays and Thursdays and does not call at Asaji station. What does work: the park is a waymarked 1.8 km walk from the station on the Kyushu Olle Oku-Bungo course, which starts at Asaji station and continues past Yujaku Park to Oka Castle and Bungo-taketa. If you can walk half an hour, you do not need a taxi.
A low wooden boardwalk running between grassy banks at Yujaku Park, framed by maples turning gold and orange overhead.
The Kyushu Olle route runs straight through, which makes the park easier to treat as one stage of a walk to Oka Castle than as a destination on its own.

Raizan Sennyoji Daihioin: one maple, three official ages

Daihioin was founded in 1753 by Kuroda Tsugutaka, lord of Fukuoka Domain. The great maple in the front garden is said to have been planted to mark that founding — which is where the arithmetic gets interesting, because Itoshima City’s own heritage page describes the tree as more than 350 years old, and its 2026 register of designated cultural properties gives about 300 years. Fukuoka Prefecture’s English page says 400. The temple itself does not state an age at all.

What is not in dispute is the designation and the measurements. The prefecture listed “the maples of Daihioin” as a natural monument on 14 January 1961 — three trees, all with a girth over 2.3 m at chest height. Itoshima City’s detail page describes the largest, in the front garden, as about 8 m tall with a girth of about 2.3 m and a root spread of about 13 m, its trunk dividing into three at 1.7 m above the ground and fanning out from there. Two more stand in the inner garden.

Three corrections to the English record. VISIT FUKUOKA’s English page calls the tree a “Municipally-Designated Natural Monument” — it is a prefectural designation, listed by Itoshima City as Prefectural Natural Monument No. 50. The same page gives the age as 400 years, which matches neither of the city’s two figures. And MATCHA’s Kyushu autumn round-up still quotes ¥100 for grounds entry and ¥400 for the hall; those were the prices before the temple raised them on 1 September 2025. A separate MATCHA article gives Sennyoji an address in Fukutsu that actually belongs to Miyajidake Shrine.
A very large spreading Japanese maple in full orange and red beside the temple buildings at Raizan Sennyoji Daihioin in Itoshima, its branches reaching over the veranda roof.
The front-garden maple against the temple buildings. Itoshima City describes the largest of the three as about 8 m tall, its trunk dividing into three at 1.7 m and fanning outwards from there.

What you pay, and the November arrangement nobody explains

English sources describe this as a temple that changes its price in November. That is not quite it. The standard admission is ¥500 for adults, ¥400 for groups of twenty or more, free for junior high school age and under, and that does not change. What November adds is a separate, cheaper option: from 1 to 30 November, visitors who only want to see the outer garden and the great maple pay a ¥200 grounds fee instead. There is no group discount on that one.

Both figures date from 1 September 2025, when the temple raised prices citing maintenance costs. The ¥500 admission includes entry to the halls, where the temple says a priest gives a fifteen-to-twenty-minute explanation to every visitor, individual or group alike. Inside is the principal image, a standing eleven-headed thousand-armed Kannon 4.63 m tall and designated an Important Cultural Property, along with the five hundred rakan.

Yujaku ParkRaizan Sennyoji
PrefectureOita (Bungo-ono)Fukuoka (Itoshima)
PeakMid to late NovemberGreat maple around 10 Nov; grounds to end of November
AdmissionNot published¥500, or ¥200 grounds-only in November
HoursNot published. 2025 illumination ran to 21:00 on selected dates; 2026 not announcedReception 09:00–16:30; gates close 17:00 in November
TripodsNo rule publishedBanned, indoors and out; must be left at reception in November
Nearest stationAsaji (unstaffed)Chikuzen-Maebaru
Last mile1.8 km waymarked walk from the stationWeekends and holidays: bus to Raizan Kannon-mae, then 7 min on foot. Weekdays: no regular bus reaches the temple

The rules at Sennyoji are stricter than most

The temple’s FAQ is direct: personal photography is permitted, but tripods and monopods of any kind are banned both inside the halls and outdoors, along with drones and elaborate costume photography. In November the blog adds that tripods may not even be brought in — leave them at reception — that eating and drinking are prohibited throughout, that pets are not admitted, that the grounds are non-smoking, and that photography inside the halls is not permitted.

There is one more line worth knowing if you are planning a shoot rather than a visit: location photography, including pre-wedding shoots, is allowed at Sennyoji except during November and from 31 December to 17 January, and requires an application. In other words the temple stops accepting organised shoots for exactly the month everybody wants to photograph it.

Rows of weathered stone rakan statues, many covered in moss, arranged across a wooded slope among tall cedar trunks at Raizan Sennyoji Daihioin.
The five hundred rakan on the slope. These are included in the ¥500 admission rather than the ¥200 grounds fee.

Getting to Sennyoji, and why the day of the week decides everything

Chikuzen-Maebaru is easy: 42 minutes from Hakata and ¥640, or 47 minutes from Fukuoka Airport and ¥680, on the through service between the Fukuoka subway airport line and the JR Chikuhi Line. Note that the subway–JR transfer discount does not apply on this route.

The last five kilometres are where it gets awkward, and I have not seen this explained in English anywhere.

On a weekday no scheduled bus reaches the temple. Showa Bus’s Raizan line runs only two southbound services on weekdays, and both terminate at Raizan-iriguchi rather than Raizan Kannon-mae — the timetable columns for the temple stop are simply blank. Between 08:30 and 17:00 on weekdays the only service is Choisoko Yokamachi Mirai-go, a members-only on-demand minibus that requires registration in advance (about two weeks if you apply on paper) and a booking made between two weeks and thirty minutes before you travel. On Saturdays, Sundays and holidays the ordinary bus does reach the temple: three services from Maebaru Station south exit at 09:10, 12:45 and 15:20, taking 22 to 37 minutes, with returns at 09:50, 13:40 and 16:10. The fare is a flat ¥200.

In 2025 the operators added a direct shuttle for the maple season, and unusually it ran on weekdays only — precisely to fill the gap above. It ran 17 to 28 November, three round trips a day, 22 minutes each way, ¥500 one way. Whether it runs again in 2026 had not been announced when I checked on 3 September: Showa Bus’s 2025 notice has been deleted and nothing has replaced it. Past announcements have gone up in early to mid November, so check then rather than now.

The temple’s access page gives no parking details, but a 2023 post on its official blog mentions three car parks and about 120 spaces. VISIT FUKUOKA says 119, and its page for the same temple’s juniper says 50, which tells you how much weight to put on either number.

The pond garden at Raizan Sennyoji Daihioin in autumn, with clipped shrubs, moss, fallen leaves on the path and maples turning yellow and red above the water.
The Shinji garden. Both sites use the name Shinji — written with the character for “heart” or “mind,” a traditional plan for a temple or villa garden. At Yujaku it names the pond; here it names the garden.
A dark stone seated figure on a lotus pedestal silhouetted against brilliant orange and red maple leaves in the grounds of Raizan Sennyoji Daihioin.
The temple counts around two hundred maples across the grounds beyond the famous one, which is why its own FAQ says the colour holds until the end of November even after the great maple has turned.
One is a temple with a prefecturally designated maple and a blanket ban on tripods. The other is a domain lord’s garden with no published admission fee and, across the nine outlets I checked, no English page at all.

Doing both, and what else is nearby

They are not a practical same-day pairing: Itoshima is west of Fukuoka, Bungo-ono is deep in inland Oita, and their usual peaks are roughly a week to ten days apart. Treat them as two ends of a Kyushu autumn fortnight — Sennyoji in the first half of November, Yujaku in the third week.

If you are already building the fortnight, Oita holds a third date most English itineraries miss. Yabakei’s Hitome-Hakkei is one of the three places that share the unofficial title of Japan’s great autumn foliage, and Weathernews puts its 2026 peak from about 15 November — between Sennyoji and Yujaku, in the same prefecture as Yujaku.

Both ends assume wheels: Yujaku sits five to six minutes by car from an unstaffed rural station, and Sennyoji’s weekday buses are effectively unusable. TOCOO compares Oita pickups across Japan’s rental companies (coupon IJMEMZ takes ¥1,000 off — check it shows before payment), and DiscoverCars covers the international brands for a Fukuoka Airport start.

Around Sennyoji, Itoshima is well covered in English for its coast, oyster huts and cafés. For a second temple with maples that most visitors miss, we have written about Nomiyama Kannon-ji in Sasaguri, on the other side of Fukuoka. Around Yujaku, the Kyushu Olle course continues to Oka Castle and the town of Bungo-taketa, which is the natural second stop. If you are circling the whole island rather than staying in Oita, the Saga pottery towns are a separate leg — see getting to Imari and Arita. If you are building a wider autumn route, our October highland gems covers what turns before Kyushu does, and the Aigi Tunnels near Nagoya are the late-November counterpart on the way back east. For the month either side, see Japan in October.

On where to stay: Itoshima works as a day trip from the city, so Fukuoka hotels are the practical base, though staying in Itoshima itself shortens the taxi ride and makes the on-demand minibus easier to arrange — it does not, on its own, solve the weekday bus gap. For Yujaku, Bungo-ono has little accommodation and most people base in Oita city or at Bungo-taketa; Rakuten Travel lists the small Japanese inns around there that the international sites tend to miss. Both of these run on notices that change late and locally — illumination nights, a shuttle that may or may not return — so having data on the day to check for cancellations matters more here than at a big-name site. If you are not arriving with a Japanese number, an eSIM covers it.

Questions worth answering first

Are the 2026 Yujaku festival and the Sennyoji shuttle confirmed?

Neither, as of 3 September 2026. Yujaku’s festival announcement has gone up in mid-October for each of the last two years. Sennyoji’s November admission arrangement is standing and needs no announcement, but the weekday shuttle bus is a separate seasonal service run by the bus operator, and past notices have appeared in early to mid November. Check both before you fix a date.

When should I visit each one?

Sennyoji’s great maple is usually best in the first half of November, with the temple’s own estimate around the 10th, and the two hundred or so other maples in the compound hold to the end of the month. Yujaku Park is generally best from the middle of November into the third week. Yujaku ran illumination on selected nights in 2024 and 2025; I found no illumination programme published for Sennyoji.

Can I get to Sennyoji without a car on a weekday?

Not on an ordinary bus. Between 08:30 and 17:00 on weekdays the only public option is the on-demand minibus, which needs membership arranged in advance. In the maple season a weekday-only direct shuttle fills the gap, but it is confirmed each year only in November. A taxi from Chikuzen-Maebaru is about twenty minutes.

What does ¥200 at Sennyoji actually get me?

The outer garden and the great maple, from 1 to 30 November only. It does not include the halls. If you want the thousand-armed Kannon, the rakan and the priest’s explanation, that is the ¥500 admission, which is charged all year.

Is there an entry fee at Yujaku Park?

No official page states one, and none states that entry is free either. The fee field on the tourism association’s own listing is blank. Parking and toilets are listed as available. The one charge I found documented is a ¥300 shuttle contribution on the single night-kagura date in 2025.

Can I use a tripod?

Not at Sennyoji. Tripods and monopods are banned indoors and outdoors year-round, and in November they may not be brought onto the grounds at all. Yujaku Park publishes no photography rule; the general Bungo-ono city park ordinance requires permission for photography as a business, but I could not confirm that Yujaku is a designated city park under it.

Sources

The primary sources behind every figure above
  • Sennyoji hours, fees, rules, maple: Sennyoji Daihioin official site — admission page, FAQ, priest’s message, and the temple blog.
  • Maple designation and measurements: Itoshima City cultural property page and the city’s register of designated properties current to 1 April 2026.
  • Yujaku Park, festival and illumination dates: Bungo-ono City Tourism Association, including its dated 2025 progress reports; Tourism Oita.
  • Trains: JR Kyushu timetable and fare search, and the Asaji station page; Fukuoka City Transportation Bureau fare search for the subway through service.
  • Buses: Showa Bus Raizan line timetable; Itoshima City’s community transport booklet, April 2026 edition; Bungo-ono City community bus timetable, April 2026 revision.
  • Walking route: Kyushu Olle official course notes for the Oku-Bungo course.
  • Yujaku Park English coverage, checked 3 September 2026: japan-guide.com, JapanTravel, Time Out, Tokyo Cheapo, Voyapon, MATCHA, JNTO, Visit Oita and Bungo-ono City — no dedicated page found on any of the nine.
  • Sennyoji English coverage and its errors: VISIT FUKUOKA’s spot page (hours, ¥500, parking, bus) and MATCHA’s Kyushu and Fukuoka autumn round-ups, which carry the pre-September-2025 prices.

Join 1,000+ travelers discovering Japan's hidden side

Weekly dispatches from off-the-beaten-path Japan — spots and stories you won't find in guidebooks.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Field notes, weekly

One email a week. The Japan worth planning around.

Before you go...

Get weekly stories from off-the-beaten-path Japan — hidden spots and local insights most guidebooks miss.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.