A large beige Costco Wholesale warehouse building with red Costco signs, cars parked in front and a multi-storey car park on its left, under a clear blue sky with shrubs in the foreground

Costco Japan: Can You Use Your Membership From Home? Cards, Warehouses and Access (2026)

A Costco card from the US, Canada, the UK or Australia works in Japan, but Costco Japan's terms list cash, Mastercard credit cards, the Costco Shop Card and the Costco Global Card; Visa and Amex are not on that list. The 37 warehouses in its finder, the one with a Tokyo address, the One-Day Pass rule, and train and bus directions from Costco for the ones near major cities, checked 19 October 2026.

Japan · shopping · what works from home

By Nobu · membership terms, payment rules and warehouse data checked on Costco’s own sites on 19 October 2026 · Sources at the end

A Costco membership from the United States, Canada, the UK or Australia gets you into Costco in Japan: each of those countries’ membership terms says the card is valid at any Costco warehouse worldwide. Paying is different: Costco Japan lists cash, Mastercard credit cards, its own Shop Card and its co-branded card. Visa and American Express are not on that list. Its warehouse finder listed 37 warehouses on 19 October 2026, and only one has a Tokyo address.

A large beige Costco Wholesale warehouse building with red Costco signs, cars parked in front and a multi-storey car park on its left, under a clear blue sky with shrubs in the foreground
Costco’s Moriyama warehouse in Nagoya in 2024.
US, Canada, UK, Australia cardWorksshow the card with your photo at the door and at the till
PaymentCash or Mastercard credit cardsalso the Costco Shop Card and the co-branded Costco Global Card; some items excepted
Warehouses in Japan37in Costco Japan’s warehouse finder on 19 October 2026
Hours10:00–20:00 daily31 Dec 7:00–18:00; closed 1 Jan; on holidays opening time can move with crowding
GuestsUp to 2 adults per memberguests cannot buy; a One-Day Pass holder pays 5% extra
Tax-freeNot confirmedno mention on the Costco Japan pages checked

The short answers

QuestionVerdict, source, checked
Can I enter with my membership from home?Works. Costco US, Canada, UK and Australia membership terms. Checked 19 October 2026.
Can I pay with my Mastercard?Listed, with exceptions. Costco Japan’s terms list all Mastercard credit cards, with some items excepted, and do not address foreign-issued cards. Checked 19 October 2026.
Can I pay with Visa or American Express?Not on the list. Costco Japan’s membership terms list cash, its own cards and Mastercard credit cards only. Checked 19 October 2026.
Can someone without a membership shop?Works with conditions. A member’s guests (up to two adults) can enter but not buy; a One-Day Pass holder can buy at the non-member price, 5% above the shelf price. Costco Japan membership terms and One-Day Pass terms. Checked 19 October 2026.
Can I use my phone app card from home?Not confirmed. Costco Japan’s terms do not mention other countries’ app cards. Checked 19 October 2026.
Is Costco Japan tax-free for visitors?Not confirmed. Not mentioned on the Costco Japan pages listed in the sources. Checked 19 October 2026.

Your membership from home

The Costco US member conditions (updated 30 March 2026) say: “Your membership card is valid at any Costco warehouse worldwide and is not transferable.” Costco Canada and Costco UK use the same sentence; Costco Australia says the card “can be used at any Costco Warehouse worldwide”.

Costco Japan’s membership terms, last updated on 8 September 2025, describe its own cards: they are valid at any Costco warehouse worldwide, must carry a membership number and a full-face photo, and must be shown when you enter and when you pay. Copies are not accepted. They do not address cards issued abroad; your own country’s terms are the basis for using yours here.

Bring your membership card. Whether another country’s app card is accepted is not stated on the Costco Japan pages checked.

If you have no membership, Costco Japan’s terms say anyone aged 18 or over can join. Gold Star costs ¥5,280 a year and Gold Star Executive ¥10,560, tax included. What identification a short-term visitor needs to join was not stated on the Costco Japan pages checked; ask at the membership counter.

Paying at Costco Japan

Section 5 of Costco Japan’s terms accepts “cash, Costco Shop Cards, Costco Global Cards (co-branded) and all Mastercard credit cards (some exceptions may apply)”.

  • Mastercard credit card: listed; the terms do not address foreign-issued cards.
  • Visa, American Express, JCB, debit cards: not named in the terms; do not rely on them.
  • Cash: listed. See when banks close in Japan.
  • Costco Shop Card: the Japanese Shop Card terms say it can be used only by members with a valid membership at warehouses and gas stations in Japan.

Bringing someone without a membership

Each member may bring up to two guests aged 18 or over, plus any number of children under 18. Only the member may buy. Costco Japan’s terms also cover a One-Day Pass (and Invitation Card) issued by Costco Japan: it is not a membership card, and anything bought with it is charged at the non-member price, 5% above the price displayed in the warehouse. The terms do not say how to get one, but a pass is invalid without an expiry date and issuing warehouse, or if bought from a reseller; a member may give a properly issued pass to a non-member free.

Warehouses you can reach by train or bus

Costco Japan’s warehouse finder listed 37 warehouses on 19 October 2026, all open 10:00–20:00 daily. Holidays normally follow those hours, though the finder notes that on holidays the opening time may change with crowding. The year-end exceptions are 31 December (7:00–18:00) and 1 January (closed). Every warehouse in the finder lists a food court. The access lines below are from each warehouse’s finder entry; none of the entries mentions a Costco shuttle bus, and a few give only a taxi ride from the nearest station.

Tokyo and around

Tamasakai, in Machida, is the only warehouse with a Tokyo address; the others below are in Chiba, Kanagawa and Saitama.

WarehouseWithout a car, per Costco Japan
Makuhari (Chiba)
1-4 Toyosuna, Mihama-ku, Chiba
2 minutes on foot from Makuhari-Toyosuna Station, JR Keiyo and Musashino lines
Kawasaki (Kanagawa)
3-1-4 Ikegami-shinmachi, Kawasaki-ku
From JR Kawasaki Station, Kawasaki City Bus (stand 14) or Rinko Bus route Kawa 21 (stands 1–2) to Rinko Keisatsusho-mae (臨港警察署前), then 5 minutes on foot
Tamasakai (Tokyo)
3-6-1 Oyamagaoka, Machida
15 minutes on foot from the east exit of Tamasakai Station, Keio Sagamihara Line; or Kanachu bus Hashi 76 from Hashimoto or Tamasakai Station to Machida Techno Park-mae (まちだテクノパーク前), 1 minute on foot
Kanazawa Seaside (Yokohama)
2-6 Sachiura, Kanazawa-ku
10 minutes on foot from Namiki-chuo or Sachiura Station, Kanazawa Seaside Line
Shinmisato (Saitama)
3-1-2 Shinmisato Lalacity, Misato
15 minutes on foot from the west exit of Shin-Misato Station, JR Musashino Line
Iruma (Saitama)
3169-2 Miyadera, Iruma
Seibu Bus from Irumashi Station (for Iruma City Museum) to Mitsui Outlet Park Iriguchi, 2 minutes on foot
Chiba New Town (Chiba)
3-1186-4 Izumino, Inzai
15 minutes on foot from Chiba-New-Town-Chuo Station, Hokuso Line
Zama (Kanagawa)
1-13-3 Higashihara, Zama
20 minutes on foot from Sagamino Station, Sotetsu Line
A blue and white Kawasaki City Bus hybrid single-decker parked at a depot, with the words Kawasaki City Bus along its side
A Kawasaki City Bus outside its Shiohama depot in 2021.

Near Tokyo, Makuhari is 2 minutes on foot from Makuhari-Toyosuna Station.

Tokyo hotels on Agoda

Osaka, Kobe and Kyoto

WarehouseWithout a car, per Costco Japan
Kadoma (Osaka)
1-5 Matsuocho, Kadoma
10 minutes on foot from Kadomashi Station, Keihan Main Line and Osaka Monorail
Amagasaki (Hyogo)
3-13-55 Tsugiya, Amagasaki
18 minutes on foot from Hankyu Sonoda Station; or Hanshin Bus route 24 from Hankyu Sonoda Station or JR Amagasaki Station to the 小園 stop, 3 minutes on foot
Kyoto Yawata (Kyoto)
Kinmeidai-kita 5, Yawata
Keihan Bus from stand 3 at JR Matsuiyamate Station to Minoyama Shogakko (美濃山小学校), 2 minutes on foot
Kobe (Hyogo)
868-26 Kozukayama, Tamon-cho, Tarumi-ku
Sanyo Bus or Kobe City Bus from Gakuen-toshi Station (subway) or JR Maiko Station to Kozukayama 6-chome (小束山6丁目), 7 minutes on foot; Costco asks visitors to use public transport where possible at weekends and on holidays

Izumi (Osaka) is the exception in this region: its finder entry gives only a 10-minute taxi ride from Izumi-Chuo Station on the Semboku Line.

Kadoma is 10 minutes on foot from Kadomashi Station on the Keihan Main Line.

Osaka hotels on Agoda
The pink-tiled south entrance of Keihan Kadomashi Station with escalators and stairs under a curved grey roof, the station name in Japanese and English on the building behind, under a blue sky
Keihan Kadomashi Station, south side, in December 2024.

Sapporo, Fukuoka, Hiroshima and Nagoya

WarehouseWithout a car, per Costco Japan
Sapporo
9-3-1 Utsukushigaoka 1-jo, Kiyota-ku
Chuo Bus from subway Fukuzumi Station (stand 8, Fuku 97 or 96) or Oyachi Station (stand 4, route 大69) to Sanrizuka Shogakko-mae (三里塚小学校前), 3 minutes on foot
Hisayama (Fukuoka)
1152-1 Yamada, Hisayama, inside Trias Hisayama West Zone
Bus 27B from the Kashii-sando (香椎参道) or Sasaguri-ekimae (篠栗駅前) stop to the 古賀橋 stop, 5 minutes on foot
Hiroshima
2-3-4 Minami-Kaniya, Minami-ku
15 minutes on foot from the south exit of JR Hiroshima Station, or from JR Tenjingawa Station; buses to Mazda Stadium-mae stop 2 minutes away
Moriyama (Nagoya)
Nakashidami, Moriyama-ku
Yutorito Line bus to Shidami Kotsu Hiroba (志段味交通広場), 2 minutes on foot; check the bus direction before boarding
Chubu Airport (Aichi)
1-25-14 Rinku-cho, Tokoname
11 minutes on foot from Rinku-Tokoname Station or 13 minutes from Tokoname Station, Meitetsu

Outside these tables, the finder entries for Maebashi, Gunma Meiwa and Kaminoyama give only a taxi ride from the nearest station. Hokkaido also has a warehouse in Ishikari, and Fukuoka Prefecture has Kitakyushu and Ogori; Okinawa’s is in Nanjo. Around Hiroshima, see Hiroshima and Miyajima in one day.

Sapporo’s warehouse is a bus ride from Fukuzumi Station.

Sapporo stays on Booking.com

For Hisayama, the finder gives bus 27B from Kashii-sando (香椎参道) or Sasaguri-ekimae (篠栗駅前).

Fukuoka stays on Booking.com

What to know before you shop

Tax-free. The Costco Japan pages listed in the sources made no mention of tax-free sales when checked on 19 October 2026. Read Japan tax-free shopping in 2026 for the rules.

Food court. All 37 warehouses in the finder list one, open 10:00–20:00. The Costco Japan pages checked do not publish the menu or prices. The sign photographed at Hamamatsu asks customers not to eat or drink on the sales floor.

A plain hot dog in a white bun on crumpled brown paper on a white table
A food-court hot dog at Costco Hamamatsu, October 2025.
A white wall sign with a red no-entry symbol over a hot dog and a drink, reading in Japanese and English: Please do not eat or drink on the sales floor
The bilingual sign at Costco Hamamatsu: no eating or drinking on the sales floor.

Electronics. Check the packaging of electronics: the boxes below read “Console Language: Japanese only”.

Stacked boxes of PlayStation 5 Digital Edition consoles; the front box reads Console Language: Japanese only
Console boxes stacked for sale, marked “Console Language: Japanese only”.

Pack sizes. Costco sells many items in large packs; check what you can carry and store during your trip, and if you are moving on by train, read the shinkansen luggage rules before you add a large box to your bags.

Some warehouse finder entries give bus stop and route details, in Japanese and English; mobile data lets you check the entry for your warehouse on the way.

See eSIM options

FAQ

Can I use my American Costco card in Japan?

Yes. Costco US conditions say the card is valid at any Costco warehouse worldwide. Show the card at the entrance and at the till.

Can non-members shop at Costco Japan?

As a member’s guest they can come in, up to two adults per member, but a guest cannot buy. A One-Day Pass holder can buy at the non-member price, 5% above the shelf price.

Which cards does Costco Japan accept?

Mastercard credit cards, the Costco Shop Card and the co-branded Costco Global Card, plus cash, according to Costco Japan’s membership terms. Visa and American Express are not on that list.

Is there a Costco in Tokyo?

One warehouse has a Tokyo address: Tamasakai in Machida, 15 minutes on foot from Tamasakai Station on the Keio Sagamihara Line. Makuhari in Chiba is 2 minutes from Makuhari-Toyosuna Station on the JR Keiyo Line.

How do I get to Costco in Japan without a car?

Most entries in Costco Japan’s warehouse finder give train or bus directions, such as Makuhari (2 minutes from Makuhari-Toyosuna Station) or Hiroshima (15 minutes from JR Hiroshima Station); a few, such as Izumi, give only a taxi ride from the nearest station. None of the entries checked mentions a Costco shuttle.

Is Costco Japan tax-free?

Not confirmed. The Costco Japan pages checked on 19 October 2026 do not mention tax-free sales.

Plan the rest of your trip

Japan Cash vs Card in 2026

Where cards work, and where you still need yen.

Suica, PASMO and ICOCA

How to get and top up the IC cards used on Japan’s trains and buses.

Japan Budget Guide 2026

Daily costs for food, transport and rooms.

Japan from the USA

Airports, routes and first-timer mistakes.

Sources

Join travelers discovering Japan's hidden side

Weekly dispatches from off-the-beaten-path Japan — spots and stories you won't find in guidebooks.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Before you go...

Get weekly stories from off-the-beaten-path Japan — hidden spots and local insights most guidebooks miss.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.